Swords in One Piece and Their Classification


The Swords in One Piece are classified in three types

  • Meito(literally meaning Famed Blade): A sword that has gained its own fame, that people would recognize it upon seeing it.
  • Kokuto(literally meaning Black Blade): A sword that possess a black-colored blade.
  • Yoto(literally meaning Cursed/Mystic Blade): A sword that carries a curse and brings misfortune to its wielders; can be overpowered if the user’s luck is superior.

Meito Blades

  • Saijo O Wazamono(Supreme Grade Swords). There are 12 Supreme Grade Blades. These are the highest quality blades. The blades which are confirmed to be of Supreme grade are as following
    • Yoru(meaning Night) owned by Dracule Mihawk
    • Shodai Kitetsu(meaning First generation Demon Splitter) assumed to be owned by the bald member of Five Elders
    • Murakumogiri(meaning Gathering-Clouds Cutter) owned by Edward Newgate/Whitebeard
  • O Wazamono(Great Grade Swords). There are 21 Great Grade Swords. Their quality is one step lower than the Supreme Grade. The blades which are confirmed to be of Great grade are as following
    • Nidai Kitetsu(meaning Second Generation Demon Splitter) currently owned by Tenguyama Hitetsu
    • Wado Ichimonji(meaning Straight Road of Harmony) owned by Roronoa Zoro
    • Shusui(meaning Autumn Water) returned back to Shimotsuki Ryuma
    • Enma(meaning Yama) owned by Roronoa Zoro
    • Ame no Habakiri(meaning Snake-Slayer of Heaven) currently owned by Kozuki Momonosuke
  • Ryu Wazamono(Skillful Great Swords). There are 49 Skillful Great Swords(previously 50, before Yubashiri was destroyed). Their quality is higher than normal grade blades but lower than Great Grades. The blades which are confirmed to be of Skillful grade are as following
    • Kashu(meaning Flower Province) currently owned by Tashigi
    • Yubashiri (meaning Snow Run) now destroyed previously owned by Roronoa Zoro
    • Yamaoroshi(meaning Wind Blowing down from the Mountain) currently owned by Tashigi
  • Wazamono(Grade Swords). There are an undetermined number of Grade Swords. They are sharp swords, and the lowest grade possible for a named blade. The blades which are confirmed to be of Grade grade are as following
    • Shigure(meaning Rain in Late Autumn) currently owned by Tashigi
    • Sandai Kitetsu(meaning Third Generation Demon Splitter) currently owned by Roronoa Zoro

One Piece Family

Chapter 997 confirms Zoro has Conqueror’s Haki!